Driving Under the Influence (DUI), more commonly referred to as drunk driving, refers to operating a motor vehicle while the driver’s blood alcohol content is over the legal limit—which is supposedly a level that an individual can no longer drive safely. The state of Colorado has some of the strictest intoxicated driving laws in the country, both in terms of the set legal limit and the penalties involved.
Colorado has a per se limit of .08, which means that individuals caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than .08 within two hours of driving will be charged with Driving Under the Influence per se. Simply put, the state assumes that anyone driving with a blood alcohol content above the .08 limit is substantially impaired and is thus deemed automatically guilty, regardless of whether the driver was actually affected or impaired.
Apart from Driving Under the Influence, however, Colorado has an additional charge. Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI), is a charge that applies between blood alcohol content levels .05 and .08 if it can be established that the individual’s ability to drive was affected to any degree due to use of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both.
Note that your case can still be defended, even if local authorities say that your BAC was over the legal limit.
Call Goldman Law Firm, LLC at (303) 656-9529 to schedule a case evaluation to see which issues may be present in your DUI case and what your best options are.
Penalties for DUI and DWAI
Often, DUI and DWAI convictions can carry serious consequences, including hefty fines, suspension of driver’s license, community service, and jail time—even for a first offense.
Some factors that typically determine your DUI sentence include how high your blood alcohol content level was, how many prior DUI-related offenses you have, whether your driving demonstrated a reckless disregard for safety, your demeanor during the arrest, whether there was an accident involved and whether anyone was injured in this accident, and your conduct since the DUI.
Potential penalties for a first DUI offense include:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Up to 96 hours of community service
- Twelve points on your driver’s license
- A one-year suspension of your driver’s license
- Anywhere from five days to one year in jail
- Attending a court-ordered alcohol treatment program
Potential penalties for a first DWAI offense include:
- Fines of up to $500
- Up to 48 hours of community service
- Eight points on your driver’s license
- Anywhere from two to 180 days in jail
These penalties quickly become more severe for succeeding offenses. Penalties for repeat DWAI offenses are almost identical in nature to those of repeat DUI offenses.
An experienced DUI defense attorney from Goldman Law, LLC can help reduce your fines, keep your driver’s license, reduce the hours of public service required, reduce or eliminate potential jail time, and reduce or obtain a deferred sentence.
Consequences of a DUI Charge
The consequences of a DUI or DWAI charge extend beyond the courtroom, as they can seriously impact both your present and future.
If you have a professional driver’s license, a DUI charge can affect your ability to get a job. A DUI charge can also affect other areas of employment, even those that do not involve driving. A DUI charge can also affect your ability to attain credit, as well as your ability to find a nice place to live. It may even prevent you from being admitted to a university or college.
Of course, a DUI also brings about considerable financial consequences. These include fines, restitution, higher car insurance premiums, and the cost of the court-ordered alcohol treatment.
Contact Goldman Law, LLC Today
Even if you have been charged with driving under the influence, it does not automatically mean that you are guilty. If you’re facing a DUI or DWAI charge in Colorado, immediately contact an attorney who understands the law and who has the skills and experience to protect your best interests.
Goldman Law Firm, LLC is devoted to providing quality legal representation to clients from all over Colorado who are charged with a DUI or DWAI. Whether this is your first time charged with DUI or your third, a DUI defense lawyer from our firm can help you obtain the best outcome possible for your case.
Hiring a Denver DUI attorney is the most important decision you can make for your DUI or DWAI case. To learn more about your rights and to receive a professional case evaluation, contact Goldman Law, LLC at (303) 656-9529.